Fear Not

Honey Bee

Honey Bee

Orchard Weaver Spider

Orchard Weaver Spider

If you’re anything like me the thought of spiders, bee’s, wasps and any other kind of creepy crawly will have you running for the hills or squeamish at the least. Fear often creates a fight or flight response. Often for a good reason. Some spiders can be extremely dangerous if you are bitten by it and a bee’s sting can be a life or death experience for those that are allergic. What we forget is most times spiders, bee’s and other “bugs” have no interest in us as long as we don’t pose a direct threat to them. A bite or sting is a protection response. In fact if you respect the boundaries and observe them you will see some amazing things. Webs that are just stunning, hunting skills that are remarkable and much more. I used to be the first person to stomp a bug regardless of it being in my home or outside in it’s own little world. Now my heart has changed because these insects are an important part of the life cycle. They have very important jobs to perform in order to keep balance in our worlds. Unless they are a direct threat to me or my family, I live and let live. Since I have adopted this thought process I see the beauty even in the things that once frightened me. Genesis 9:2 solidifies in my heart the importance of this respect “ The fear and dread of you will fall on all the beasts of the earth, and on all the birds in the sky, on every creature that moves along the ground, and on all the fish in the sea; they are given into your hands.” God placed all things here and they are commanded by us. I feel the need to be respectful of that duty and exercise much more care in yielding a death sentence upon an unsuspecting creepy crawly. Foolish maybe, but life is life, and every single thing God created has a right to it.

 

COPYRIGHT NOTICE- ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

© Angela Morris or © Angela Blake and This World as I See It, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Angela Morris or Angela Blake and This World as I See It with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave a Reply

